The Nova Scotia Association of Architects (NSAA) is a self-governing professional association established in 1932, and mandated by the Province of Nova Scotia under The Architects Act to regulate the practice of architecture in the province.

The NSAA serves to protect the public interest and advance the profession of architecture. The NSAA works with its membership and other stakeholders to establish high entry standards to the profession and maintain high standards of practice. Members are governed by strict principles of ethical and professional conduct, which are detailed in the NSAA By-Laws and Code of Ethics. The Association assists various governmental bodies in drafting legislation as it might affect architects, their clients, or the public.

The Office

The offices of the Nova Scotia Association of Architects are located at 1361 Barrington Street in Halifax, Nova Scotia, in a registered historical property known as Stoddard House. The NSAA Offices are appropriately situated across the street from the Dalhousie University School of Architecture, and in between the Association of Professional Engineers of Nova Scotia offices and Government House (home to the Lieutenant Governor of Nova Scotia).

For information on the Nova Scotia Architects Act and Regulations, Educational Resources, Publications, and other helpful information, please visit the Resources Section.

The photos on the homepage are the Lieutenant Governor Design Awards in Architecture recipients. For a complete list, please visit the Awards Page.


What is Architecture? What is an Architect? Read more in our FAQ

Council – 2019/2020 Term

Spyro Trifos, NSAA


Joseph Zareski, NSAA

Vice President

Gregory MacNeil, NSAA


Iliah Lorenz-Luca, NSAA


Basma Sahib, NSAA


Jim Marriott, NSAA

Practice Standing Committee Chair

Cristina Verissimo

Dalhousie Representative

Sharon Fogo, NSAA

Membership Standing Committee Chair

Darrel Pink

Public Representative

Kendall Taylor, NSAA

Community Standing Committee Chair

Julia Weir, NSAA (Intern)

Intern Architect Observer


Margo Dauphinee, BPR

Executive Director

(902) 423-7607  |

Jamie Phillips, CHRM

Interim Executive Assistant

(902) 423-7607  |